Make your own patterned fabric with YUDU and Cricut

I sure like to see what happens when I try something new. For instance, last weekend I got out the Yudu and challenged myself to print patterns on yards of fabric.

I love to invent patterns and the Yudu offered me the opportunity to produce something tangible from which I can sew something fabulous. To my husband’s dismay, the something fabulous turned out to be another pillow (I just can’t have too many!)

With the Cricut and the Accents Essentials cartridge I cut flower parts and assembled them onto acetate sheets. Then I used those sheets to burn 2 screens to make this 2 color pattern. I simply moved the fabric to the left and the one design fit perfectly together to create a running pattern. This pillow is somewhat small and only shows a couple of courses. If I cared to I could run this pattern on forever! For the complete How-To follow this link.

I hope you all are having as much fun playing as we are. I can’t wait for next week… one of my favorite things—Jewelry!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. MIchelle
    Apr 21, 2010 @ 22:19:58

    I love this and thank you for the great tutorial on how to create the repeat…. too cool……

    Reply

  2. Scrappy Val
    Apr 22, 2010 @ 04:25:52

    What a great pillow and awesome tutorial. What type of fabric was it that you utilized ..looks somewhat canvas-y ..
    Cheers ~ Scrappy Val

    Reply

    • Sarah Spencer of 26 Letters
      Apr 22, 2010 @ 06:50:22

      Thanks for coming to our blog! Yes, the fabric is canvas-y :). I find a heavier, smooth fabric (like upholstery fabric) works like a charm on the Yudu.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

