Tasha McKelvey’s clay jewelry is fly-away fantastic

I like the peeps who do a little bit of everything… or in this case a lotta everything.

I found Tasha McKelvey’s blog through one of my favorite places to indulge in craft goodness: Indie Fixx (indiefixxgalleria.com). I am a deep believer in the power of a little blue bird to bring me happiness, and it seems Tasha has her stock in trade in that hopeful little creature. You will find the bird (my favorite animal, you may have noticed) flocking to her clay creations—jewelry and charming little bowls.

Tasha is a brilliant ceramicist who can capture delight in the smallest of pieces. Necklaces dangle with birds perched upon sweet flowers, or tiny flowers colored with delicate glazes. Here’s what Tasha has to say about her craft:

“My clay jewelry came about as part of an evolution of working on my larger scale functional clay work. The early ceramic jewelry pieces I created looked very similar to my pottery vessels and dishes – the same textures, patterns and glazes. Eventually, I realized that small scale ceramic work provided infinitely more opportunities to experiment with clays, glazes and firing techniques than larger clay work. My ceramic jewelry soon took on a style of its own, separate from my pottery. I now create hand-carved molds using geometric and botanical designs specifically for my jewelry line instead of using the carved molds intended for my functional pottery.”

I have to go now…one of her necklaces is calling to me.

Tweet, tweet!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. sandy
    Apr 29, 2010 @ 22:51:23

    Awww! Can’t have just one!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

