Pretty hurricane lamp casts cool shadows

As the Spring weather is getting warmer, my husband and I are spending more nights enjoying the evenings on the back patio with a glass of wine. When we get engrossed in conversation, and the sun sets upon us, I run in and grab this cheery light. I made it out of a cylindrical vase and card stock cut on my Cricut.

When I picked up this boring old piece of glass for a dollar at Good Will, I knew exactly what it needed to fit into my home: A delightful pattern… and birds. I used my Gypsy to assemble a bunch of circles in a bubble pattern (random size and placement). Then, with just one 8-1/2 by 11 inch piece of yellow paper, the cut pattern wraps completely around the circumference. A tiny scrap of orange supplied enough substrate to cut out a few additional circles and birds (from the “Song Bird” cartridge).

The circles are from the “Essentials“cartridge that comes with the Cricut. In the shift position, I found a perfect circle and placed a few dozen on the Gypsy canvas (see photo). The wonder that is the Gypsy: I easily enlarged, reduced and overlapped the circles, then I “fused” them together before cutting. I added the orange accents after I put the pattern on the glass. This could also be accomplished with vinyl.

For safety, I adhered the pattern to the outside of the glass and I never leave a burning candle unattended.

Leave a Reply

