Jar lables made with the new Freshly Picked Cricut Cartridge

As an avid gardener—and excited for this year’s crop of fresh goodies—I was excited to see the new Freshly Picked cartridge for the Cricut has most of my veggies on it. One of the preserves I am known for is my Totally Tasty Tomato Sauce. It’s a really simple recipe that I can make right out of the garden, fresh for dinner, in about an hour.

I always give some away, though, so it’s fun that I can now make the outside as great as what’s inside. Follow this link to download a PDF of the complete instructions (including my recipe).

In case you are wanting to see a photo of my bountiful garden, I thought I’d share this picture. And for those of you who just want the recipe, here it is! If you don’t have your own garden, or you have to by some of these ingredients, I highly recommend buying organic from the farmer’s market.

Totally Tasty Tomato Sauce
Makes about 2-1/2 cups

Ingredients:
3 tablespoons butter
1 red onion, minced
1 medium carrot, scrubbed and minced
2-3 diced tomatoes
1/2 teaspoon kosher salt (you can use regular table salt, too)
1/4 cup fresh parsley or basil, minced

Instructions:
Melt butter in a medium saucepan. Add onion and carrots; cook over medium heat until veggies soften, about 5 minutes. Add tomatoes and 1/2 teaspoon salt; simmer until sauce thickens, about 1 hour. Add more salt to taste and finish by adding minced fresh parsley or basil. Pour into sterilized jars* (*that have been boiled in water and completely cooled on racks for an hour). Put on lids and leave out to cool slightly. Place in refrigerator once cool enough to touch.

Eat well and prosper,
Sarah

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. stacirl
    May 22, 2010 @ 10:36:25

    The sauce sounds delicious and it looks like you’re having fun!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

