Antiqued Quilled Flower Photo Frame

I love really old photographs (especially of family), but I don’t always know what to do with them since I’m not really a heritage scrapbooker.  This photo was taken when my Mom was just a baby and I really wanted to have it out were we’d enjoy it so I decided to make it a frame.

I used one of those unfinished wood frames you can find at your local craft store for a buck or two and then painted it up and added these gorgeous quilled flowers.  Yea, you read that right…quilled flowers.  Now, you are probably thinking one of two things right now: Quilled flowers? What’s that ….or Quilled flowers?  People still do that??.  Yes, people still quill flowers….especially now thanks to some great new Cuttlebug kits that have all the tools you need to quill with including a super handy pen that helps you do it quick & easy!  I made this video to show you how:

Another neat thing about the quilling kits is that you can mix and match the die cuts and create what ever type of flower you want!

Download the full tutorial on how to make this quilled flower photo frame here.

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Deneen Thompson
    Jun 15, 2010 @ 14:22:29

    Those are awsome. I have to have those. Thanks for the video.

    Reply

  2. Sandy
    Jun 15, 2010 @ 15:18:17

    Beautiful!

    Reply

  3. tracy
    Jun 15, 2010 @ 15:32:47

    Oh I love these.
    I have not seen these dies in my area, and I probably won’t.
    Guess I will have to wait until we go to the States.

    I love paper flowers.

    Reply

  4. aimee bishop
    Jun 15, 2010 @ 19:16:42

    Those are amazing! Thank you for the video!

    Reply

  5. Jen
    Jun 16, 2010 @ 15:19:23

    Beautiful! You have just enabled me – lol.

    Reply

  6. Suz
    Jun 16, 2010 @ 21:08:03

    Thanks Erin these are fantastic! I will be looking for this set right away – it’s at the top of my must haves

    Reply

  7. Sasha "sweet thang" Holloway
    Jun 16, 2010 @ 22:57:50

    Love these .. one more thing for me to have my friends back home send me .. love it

    Reply

  8. Ellen
    Jun 17, 2010 @ 04:01:06

    Thanks Erin that was fantastic. Thanks heaps for the video. I would like to buy one these kits. Can you tell me where to get them

    Reply

  9. Susan
    Jun 18, 2010 @ 09:14:14

    I love these flowers. What kind of glue do you use?

    Reply

  10. Erin Bassett
    Jun 18, 2010 @ 11:27:27

    Susan – I like to use liquid glue for these. In the video I used Beacon’s 3 in 1…but for the actual frame I used Tombow Mono Multi Liquid Glue. -Basically just about any liquid glue will work!

    Reply

  11. judy hensley
    Jun 21, 2010 @ 11:39:51

    love the flowers ,got mine today and totally love the way they look, love the inking you did on yours, thanks for the video

    Reply

  12. Shweta
    Oct 05, 2010 @ 06:59:40

    Hey! These are perfect! Could you please help me with a link where I could order the dyes online? It would help me a lot 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

