Hat Pins Made Easy with the Cricut

I  signed up for several of the Swaps at the upcoming Creative Escape in August. One of the more intriguing ones is the Hat Pin Exchange. I can’t wait to see what I get in return.

For my hat pins I chose several colors of card stock, primarily from Bazzill Basics line of fabulous paper. Since I love the  Cricut, I used it to cut flower after flower from the Accent Essentials cartridge and stacked them up on long hat pins I found at a craft store. To give it the finishing touch, I applied a little sparkle with my iRock by Imaginisce.

I used my index finger to bend and fluff the different layers and found I was quite pleased with the effect. I plan to wear in my hair the Hat Pin Swaps I receive in return. It’s going to be so Fun!

Make Your Own Hat Pins:

  1. Buy plain hat pins at a craft store with a large enough head to apply the iRock to it.
  2. Purchase Bazzill Basics paper in bright colors (green, light yellow, hot pink and orange)
  3. Use the Cricut to cut the background portions of the flowers using the Accent Essentials Cartridge. (These flowers are 1.5 inches)
  4. Cut leaves out by hand using a pair of sharp scissors
  5. Spear each layer until they are all piled up on the pin. You will want to put a touch of glue between all the layers to get them to stick together.
  6. Once you put the last layer on  (the leaf) place a dot of craft glue to where the pin went though to secure the entire pile to the pin.
  7. Dry upside down
  8. Once dry, apply a little sparkle with the iRock.

Pretty as a picture!

xoxSarah

Leave a Reply

