Shear Mess 12×12 Layout

What a week my little girl decided she needed a new look. On saturday she proceeded to cut her hair off but only on one side. So imagine my surprise when she brings me her latest paper creation, a cute cut piece of paper with a rainbow pattern and half her hair chopped off. Cue the mom me going ballistic. yes my temper was flaring and she was sent to her room. I calmed down and calle dmy hairdresser to try and help me with this mess. all in all she has a very cute style and everyone loves it. Me I love long hair had she told me I would have donated it to locks of love at least than it could have had a purpose. So in honor of my little angel hairdresser, I created this layout to remind her. I am also attaching a picture of her with her beautiful golden locks. I used a piece of her hair for the butterfly trail to give a little insight into how much she chopped off:(.

Shear Mess 12×12 Layout

         

    By Michelle Van Etten

Provo Craft Supplies Used:

Cricut

Wall Décor

Holiday cakes

Gypsy

Other Supplies:

Black cardstock

White cardstock

Prima Cardboard

Glittered butterfly

crackle accents and fruit punch stickles

Jacuard Lumineres

Dimensional pearls stream

Quick quotes midnight confession

EK Success Princess Paper

  

Copyright Michelle Van Etten  2010

              

                Directions:

1.       Cut out gypsy file using white cardstock. You should have 2 layers of scissors and one welded phrase.

2.       Holiday Cakes cartridge 10×10 *(scallop doily)  top row 4th from left side

3.       For the phrase, I used silver lumineres on the word Shear and the scissor blades. I applied multiple coats of paint to build up the metallic sheen. On the word Mess, I used pink cheeks chalk ink than covered with stickles. I did the same for the scissor handles. Once dry I painted the pieces with pink lumineres let dry.

4.       On the pink I used glossy accents.

5.       On the silver I used crackle accents let dry than ink the cracks. Ink or outline both pieces and adhere layers together using foam dots.

6.       I used the Stream dimensional pearls in a circular motion to create a pattern similar to embossing on the flourishes

7.       Cut 10×10 doily out of the black cardstock mine is cardstock warehouse

8.       Matt pink princess paper behind the opening of scallop doily use the center circle as a guide for your paper.

9.       I used 3 pictures with the main focal picture larger than the 2 supporting photos cut edges to frame the circle.

10.    Take the 12×12 prima cardstock and center the doily in the middle. Add the phrase too the bottom of the circle on the pop dots.

11.    Place the scissors on the right side of the phrase

12.    Add the butterfly in the left bottom corner

13.    Cut words on strips and add journaling

 

Michelle retains all rights to these instructions not to be distributed without consent 2010.

www.trendyscrapper@gmail.com

www.trendyscrapper.typepad.com

 

Butterfly sold at etsy shop www.bellablossombaby.etsy.com

Copyright Michelle Van Etten 2010

I am also teaching classes at my creative classroom www.mycreativeclassroom.com

Now onto a challenge, I have been very creative lately just not posting all my deisgns. I decided I need a challenge.The challenge is to make something everyday. I will be posting a new project or design on my blog everyday this next month. I hope you will join me.

Have a super Scrappy Day

Michelle

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Jess
    Sep 02, 2010 @ 05:22:38

    Wow! Yep I remember that stage! Actually just last year my nephew-in-law cut my hair while I napped on the couch (Hubby was supposed to be watching him!)!! I feel the pain!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

