Memorial Day Cake

Cyndi of Lovely Lula Here.

Ready to Celebrate Memorial Day? Do it with your Cricut Cake! I created this Memorial Day Cake using my Cricut Cake and the Independence Day Cartridge. The star shapes are cut out of colored fondant that I rolled out on a crisco covered cutting mat and let sit in the refrigerator for a half an hour. Once it was stiff I removed it and loaded it into the Cricut Cake and cut the shapes. I then left the cut pieces on the mat and returned it to the fridge for another half an hour. By allowing the fondant to stiffen up each time it is easier to handle and there is less possibility of broken or torn pieces. I remove the little extra bits with a sharp tooth pick. The white and red icing is butter-creme and is piped on with a bag and a star tip. Find my Butter-Creme recipe here: Lovley Lula’s Butter-Crème Icing

Happy crafting xoxo Cyndi aka Lovely Lula

Follow me on Twitter I am Lab5.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kristan
    May 23, 2011 @ 04:02:59

    That looks so yummy!! great job

    Reply

  2. Edna McGreevy
    May 23, 2011 @ 06:13:13

    Love all the detail with this Yummy creation 🙂

    Reply

  3. nanci
    May 23, 2011 @ 07:28:32

    CUte cake. I am going to try your recipe for buttercream.

    Reply

  4. Tina Michael-Dahlmann
    May 23, 2011 @ 13:50:28

    Great job. May I have a piece?

    Reply

  5. Kelly Massman
    May 24, 2011 @ 08:21:38

    Too cute!

    Reply

  6. Rebecca Minor
    May 25, 2011 @ 20:54:46

    Pertty MMmm cake
    http://buzzybeedesigns.blogspot.com
    Rebecca Minor
    buzzybeedesigns(AT)yahoo(DOT)com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

