Monster Mirror for James Room

James, my 8 year old’s first mixed media Provo craft project. My sweet boy has never asked to work with me before this day. His sister was visiting Nana and Papa and he wanted to spend time with me. I was working on hello Thursday projects that day. I asked him if he wanted to help create the monsters for the release. he was so excited and had so much fun. he even added a ton of glitter to the eyes and mouth. I do have to learn more patience. Kids waste supplies and I am so thrifty it is hard to watch. I am learning how to accept the waste just to have the time. My son has mild Asperger’s  and he prefers to play by himself so him wanting to work with me was such an honor. He worked on the monsters and i worked on the frame. We had a blast.

I bought a $1.00 frame and some red paint sealed it with glittered sealer. I cut the words James out of the Cricut American Alphabet included with the Cricut Expression 2 at 2 inches added foam dots and added at angles to the right side of the frame. On the right I cut ut a ribbon from Just a note at 3 inches from page 45. The other details are from Cricut essentials also included with the AE2. A little pom-pom trim and some extra pizzazz from pearl pens from VIVA Decor.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. nanci
    Jun 08, 2011 @ 10:08:59

    It’s nice when the kids want to spend time with you, but I know what you mean about patience.

    Reply

  2. Colleen
    Jun 08, 2011 @ 11:18:35

    It’s awesome! I think James should get a guest spot once a month!

    Reply

  3. Dreama BordeaUX
    Jun 08, 2011 @ 12:13:32

    James did a terrfic job!

    Reply

  4. Tina Michael-Dahlmann
    Jun 08, 2011 @ 14:39:27

    Well done, James. You are a great artist!

    Reply

  5. SiskiyouSue
    Jun 08, 2011 @ 18:38:53

    James did a great job on his monster! Way to go!!! And you were so lucky to have time like that. It’s hard to slow down and make time, I used to have the same problem. But I’m so glad I did. They grow up more quickly than you could ever guess!

    Reply

  6. char j
    Jun 08, 2011 @ 20:28:01

    it’s great when kids take an interest in our hobbies–which will also add so enrichment into their lives. great monster!!

    Reply

  7. Carol's Creations
    Jun 08, 2011 @ 22:43:22

    This is fantastic…the monster is awesome! I have a 9 year old and after I got my Expression she inherited my baby bug and loves to make cards and is in the process of making her 1st scrapbook page. We both love the time together!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

