Untraditional Twist on the Stars and Stripes

With Fourth of July weekend just around the corner, I thought it would be fun to put an untraditional twist on the stars and stripes… While usually I think of red, white and blue on this patriotic holiday, I thought I would change it up and use a fresh color combination on my bracelet. Since I am in love with green this season, I thought jade and green turquoise would be perfect to turn this Forth of July bracelet into a year round accessory.

I used several different strands of beads in a similar color pallet to represent my stripes and the Create A Critter Cartridge provided the perfect star for a charm. Here are the instructions and I hope you enjoy the project.

1. Cut a piece of tulle to 1/2″ wide and a yard long. Using a needle tool to thread each set of beads with the tulle, leaving excess on each end to tie the bow.

2. Tie a single knot with all three strands. Add two additional coordinating ribbons and tie a bow. I used a slip knot so that I do not have to untie the bow to put it on.

3. Use the Create a Critter Cartridge and cut out the star accessory (shift) from the lamb and moon set. Cut it to size 2.5″ from a piece of heavy duty clear plastic. I used a left over page from a clear album (great way to use up supplies). I then used the small star and placed a hole at the top. I used a ring and attached it to one of the bead strands.

4. I also put a gem on a ring and placed it on the bead strand for an additional charm.

Well I hope you enjoyed the bracelet and I hope you have a safe and great Fourth of July on Monday!

Thanks,

Addison Paige

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Stephenie
    Jun 30, 2011 @ 09:17:44

    Love the beads! My favorite color, too! Would never have thought to thread beads on tulle! TFS

    Reply

  2. Kristan
    Jun 30, 2011 @ 10:32:42

    Very pretty, i would wear it!!

    Reply

  3. SaraBug
    Jun 30, 2011 @ 11:50:25

    Pretty. Thanks for sharing this idea.

    Reply

  4. Kris Dietz
    Jun 30, 2011 @ 17:48:37

    Very pretty. Thanks for sharing it with us.

    Kris
    dietzrobles at yahoo dot com

    Reply

  5. love2getcrafty
    Jul 01, 2011 @ 01:08:25

    Ooooh! Super fun! I love jewelry.

    Reply

  6. Tanya Thompson
    Jul 01, 2011 @ 08:24:05

    That is such a wonderful project, and very pretty too! Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

