hurricane lamp home décor tutorial

SONY DSC

One of the things I like to do on a Friday afternoon is to peruse the posh stores in my home town to keep current on trends and accessories. Unfortunately Hurricane Irene outer bands have reach my area and hopefully I will not be needing to use this.

 

me2I’m Maggie Lamarre I  fell in luv with a hurricane lamp until I saw the price tag was $59.00. I must admit I’m a bit of a snob when it comes to price tags like this, I can 90% of the time think of how it could have been done better at a fraction of the cost by using my trusty Cricut.

Immediately I started think of ways I can create something similar for less than $7.00 by using the vases, candlesticks and candles.

Supplies:

  • 2 Vases, 2 Candlesticks, 2 candles from the Dollar Store
  • Cricut Machine, Martha Stewart Elegant cake art cartridge, Vinyl from Provo Craft
  • Viva Decor Pearl pen, Etch all
  • E6000, misc.:beans

Instructions:

  • Clean vase with rubbing alcohol to remove dirt
  • Cut< Accent1> on page 40 at 4"
  • Adhere the cut image to the clean vase, by following the mfg. instructions, rinse let dry
  • Find the center of the vase add a dollop of E6000 adhere the candlestick to the bottom of the vase, add a large sturdy book on top of the vase to add pressure for the vase to adhere to the candlestick for at least 1 hour.
  • Use the Viva Decor pen to add accents on the edges of the etch image, let dry.

MaggieLamarre-Vaseclear

 

  • Add the beans to the vase, then insert candle.

MaggieLamarre-beans

Voila in less than 2 hours I created a better Hurricane lamp that can be interchangeable for any season and will be a great housewarming gifts.

SONY DSC

 

How have you use  items from the Dollar Tree store in your crafting?

Have a great weekend,

Maggie

PS you can find more of my work at Passionately Artistic.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Deneen
    Aug 26, 2011 @ 06:46:38

    So pretty! Great idea elevating the hurricane lamp. I hope I don’t need one of these for lighting this weekend in NJ with Hurricane Irene heading my way.

    Reply

  2. Edna McGreevy
    Aug 27, 2011 @ 04:02:35

    Super beautiful! this would be great for weddings thanks for sharing 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

