VCR Recycled Craft

This week at Mixology Crafts we will be featuring projects that have grown out of the “Reduce, Reuse, Recycle” concept. Get ready to get inspired and get crafty with things you might have thrown away!

Cyndi of Lovely Lula Here. I have been on a cleaning streak since the kids went back to school a couple of weeks ago. I happened upon a drawer of VCR tapes I was holding on to. I knew I had to let them go and thought why not make a project out of them instead of just tossing them. So I made a vintage looking purse using a double case and the outer paper from My Fair Lady. I love it!

For the purple background I used Bazzill Basics Metallic paper and ran it through the Cuttlebug using the Peacock from the Animal Prints Embossing folder set.  For the female silhouette I used the “My Fair Lady” outer paper box, flattened, along with pink Bazzill Basic paper. I readied the papers onto mats and then used the Cricut Art Nouveau Cartridge to cut out the silhouettes.

The handle was created by braiding the actual VCR tape and using E-600 glue to attach to the sides. I finished it off by gluing down black and white striped ribbon along the edge and spray painting the inside of the box white.

Happy crafting xoxo Cyndi aka Lovely Lula Follow me on Twitter I am Lab5.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kathie
    Aug 29, 2011 @ 12:30:22

    This idea is absolutely AWESOME! I think I have a bazillion of those cases. Thanks for the idea. Kathie

    Reply

  2. Phyllis Clark
    Aug 29, 2011 @ 15:04:17

    Great idea. You are so clever. I have got to do this…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

