Autumn Celebrations Day of the Dead Planter Box

This week at Mixology Crafts we’re getting crafty with Flea Market Finds. Visit all week to see the goodies we picked up at our local flea markets and what we did with them!

Cyndi of Lovely Lula Here. I found a simple but inspiring square galvanized metal for that was screaming to become a planter box. I knew I wanted to play with the Cricut® Autumn Celebrations Cartridge for this one because there was a fun Day of the Dead* image on it. I cut the layers of of the skull image out of different colors of vinyl on my Cricut. Once those layers were in place I edged the metal box with masking tape that has a black background and glow in the dark dots. I enhanced the dots with the YUDU glow in the dark ink. I then used Ranger Inkssentials Enamel Accents in black and white to dot the rest of the image. I allowed it to fully dry and then placed a miniature pepper plant inside.

Happy crafting xoxo Cyndi aka Lovely Lula Follow me on Twitter I am Lab5.

*Day of the Dead (Spanish: Día de los Muertos) is a Mexican holiday. The holiday focuses on gatherings of family and friends to pray for and remember friends and family members who have died. It is particularly celebrated in Mexico, where it attains the quality of a National Holiday. The celebration takes place on November 1st and 2nd, in connection with the Catholic holidays of All Saints’ Day (November 1) and All Souls’ Day (November 2). Traditions connected with the holiday include building private altars honoring the deceased using sugar skulls, marigolds, and the favorite foods and beverages of the departed and visiting graves with these as gifts.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Debbie Wilson
    Sep 19, 2011 @ 07:22:36

    For years we have celebrated this holiday in our favorite little town in Mexico but haven’t been able to do so for the past two years now. Your project brought back a lot of great memories. Thanks for posting this

    Reply

  2. Jan Lynn
    Sep 19, 2011 @ 07:41:06

    I love to find ideas to redo found objects. I think I will try to do some fall images on some pots that I put mums in on my front porch,

    Reply

Leave a Reply

