A Meow Of A Chair!

Hi, it’s Kendra here again on this wonderful Tuesday! I hope you all had a wonderful weekend. I know I did with the launch of the Cricut Expression 2 with HSN! It was great chatting with so many of you…I hope I inspired you to take the plunge and purchase the CE2. You are going to just love it!


Design on a Dime is the theme this week and boy oh boy did I have the perfect fixer-upper! I had purchased on old vanity desk last summer that came with a chair. The chair was upholstered with the most hideous awful brown fabric and my youngest daughter refused to even have it in her room. If I put it in there she would carry it back to the garage! Well, did I fix that today! I started out with a piece of cotton quilt batting and drew a straight line on it, down the center. I then took strips of fabric that coordinate with her room and started sewing them in random order using the straight line as a starting point to keep the sewing straight.

Using the Cricut Expression 2, Black, Green and Hot Pink Fabric and Heat-N-Bond, I cut the cat from the Cricut American Alphabet out at 10 inches in.

Black Cross Stitch Thread was then used to Blanket Stitch around the Cat. Once this was complete, the cat was centered on the seat and using a Power Shot Stapler and the seat board was upholstered. I still am going to be painting the chair white…but that is for another day!

When I went to put the chair away, Anika told me to be careful with it, she did not want it ruined! I believe that means I had SUCCESS! What do you all think?

Happy Scrappin’

19 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Diana
    Sep 27, 2011 @ 18:25:14

    I love it!! You did a great job, I love the colors too!! I have a chair that needs a new look too!!!

    Reply

    • mixologycrafts
      Sep 27, 2011 @ 19:38:52

      Diana,
      It was really pretty simple to do and did not take very long to complete. The longest part was doing the blanket stitching around the cat. Can’t wait to see your chair when it is finished. Be sure to email us a picture!
      Kendra 🙂

      Reply

  2. Tina Michael-Dahlmann
    Sep 27, 2011 @ 18:25:42

    Great job, Kendra. What little girl wouldn’t want that in her room?

    Tina

    Reply

  3. Kate
    Sep 27, 2011 @ 18:29:21

    This is such a fabulous project! The fabrics are fantastic – and such a sweet image, too!

    Reply

  4. Samantha J
    Sep 27, 2011 @ 18:32:50

    Absolutely ADORABLE!!! Once it’s white it will really pop! I’m not surprised she loves it. I love it too! TFS!!! 🙂

    Reply

  5. Mary Lawrence
    Sep 27, 2011 @ 18:57:50

    Love it.. Great job…

    Reply

  6. Bunnyfreak
    Sep 27, 2011 @ 19:04:33

    Love the seat.

    Reply

  7. Linda Francis Koelling
    Sep 27, 2011 @ 19:29:05

    I know you are a whizzzzzz with a staple gun lol. Do you remember when we stapled fabric and plastic over my studio tables??

    Reply

    • mixologycrafts
      Sep 27, 2011 @ 19:34:58

      Linda,
      I sure do! That was so much fun! I really miss those days. You do realize that was even before the Cricut had even been released! Wow! That seems like a lifetime ago!

      Reply

  8. Jan Lynn
    Sep 27, 2011 @ 19:37:48

    Cute for sure. I guess you could say there is more than one way to skin a cat.

    Reply

  9. Hattie
    Sep 28, 2011 @ 03:20:26

    This is fabulous!! I’ll be looking at old chairs at thrift shops differently now. Thanks for the inspiration.

    Reply

  10. Angie
    Sep 28, 2011 @ 12:24:35

    Can you use the Cricut to cut on fabric?? – or did you cut on cardstock and trace onto the fabric? Nice job!

    Reply

    • mixologycrafts
      Sep 28, 2011 @ 12:48:47

      Angie,
      You can definitely cut on fabric. I would recommend using Heat-N-Bond on the back of your fabric. Also, you will have better results with a newer mat. 🙂

      Reply

    • mixologycrafts
      Sep 28, 2011 @ 12:48:47

      Angie,
      You can definitely cut on fabric. I would recommend using Heat-N-Bond on the back of your fabric. Also, you will have better results with a newer mat. 🙂

      Reply

  11. Kathy Stutzman
    Sep 28, 2011 @ 13:56:12

    Get your emails but they are always blank, even when clicking “display images”.

    Reply

  12. Micaela
    Sep 28, 2011 @ 14:40:30

    Do you recommend applying the heat and bond first and then sticking the fabric to the mat and cutting like normal? What speed and pressure setting did you use? And blade depth? I’ve got a few fabric projects I want to try but have been hesitant to try without knowing how to do it. Thanks!

    Reply

    • mixologycrafts
      Sep 29, 2011 @ 03:52:46

      You are going to want the iron on heat n bond. You want to leave the backing on it and lay it paper side down on a newer mat. I then use max pressure, max speed and blade depth of 6. You can use the deep cut blade too but I find the normal blade housing works just fine. If you have a base cut that has slits for placement, use Design Studio, Gypsy or CCR to fit those contours or else you will have to stitch down every little area.

      Reply

  13. Joy Joyslife
    Sep 30, 2011 @ 05:30:54

    So cute Kendra!!

    Reply

  14. Amy Wooten
    Sep 30, 2011 @ 12:47:20

    Super cute! I used heat and bond for my fabric banner. I used a new blade to cut. Do you think it is necessary?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

